Kodachrome® by Paul Simon

Kodachrome – Paul Simon

Kodachrome film first hit the photography market in 1936 and on June 22, 2009, Kodak officially retired Kodachrome color transparency film after 74 years. An…

Kodachrome® by Paul Simon sheet music is available for downloading in digital format.

Paul Simon – Kodachrome (+lyrics)

Great song relating back to the days when colored film became available. Colorful images and shots of old Kodak cameras underscore the influence Kodak had on…

What’s Paul Simon saying in his song about the camera? I’ve always wondered and can’t find the lyrics cause I don’t know the name of the song.There’s the name but what the heck is he saying

Kodachrome® by Paul Simon sheet music is available for downloading in digital format.

Kodachrome ( Paul Simon )When I think backOn all the crap I learned in high schoolIt’s a wonderI can think at allAnd though my lack of educationHasn’t hurt me noneI can read the writing on the wallKodachromeYou give us those nice bright colorsYou give us the greens of summersMakes you think all the world’s a sunny day, oh yeah!I got a Nikon cameraI love to take a photographSo Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome awayIf you took all the girls I knewWhen I was singleAnd brought them all together for one nightI know they’d never matchMy sweet imaginationAnd everything looks worse in black and whiteKodachromeYou give us those nice bright colorsYou give us the greens of summersMakes you think all the world’s a sunny day, oh yeah!I got a Nikon cameraI love to take a photographSo Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome awayMama, don’t take my Kodachrome awayMama, don’t take my Kodachrome awayMama, don’t take my Kodachrome awayMama, don’t take my KodachromeMama, don’t take my KodachromeMama, don’t take my Kodachrome (away)Mama, don’t take my KodachromeMama, don’t take my KodachromeMama, don’t take my Kodachrome (away)Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome(Leave your boy so far from home)Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome (away)

You mean “kodachrome”? I think he is just talking about how life has so many different things in it, like colors.

“Kodachrome” by Paul Simon, early 70’s? For you old timers like me (age 41)? How did Paul Simon get away with doing this song without infringing on copyright laws by using Kodak’s “Kodachrome” film and “Nikon camera” in the song’s lyrics?I assume both companies allowed him to do it because it was advertising for their products!
I’ve got a Nikon camera, I love to take a photographMomma don’t take my Kodachrome away.I think your right, they must’ve run that past the marketing people from both companies.

its an early form of product placement like im gonna buy me a mercree and cruise on down that road or the terraplane blues a song by big robert johnson in the 1930’s about a car

songfacts.com/detail.php?id=1216Everything you ever wanted to know about any song! Have fun!

If you look at any album that has the song, it notes that nikon and kodachome are registered trademarks and they gave permission as such, as long as that notice is on the records

I can’t answer your question, but I had the Kodachrome 45 when I was a kid (age 44 now). It was cool when mom would let me and my brother and sister buy a record for 69 cents at the local department store. I still have them all.

I liked that song but obviously that song was done before the days of lawyers and no one really cared.he must have had some sort of clearance to do that song.probably publicity or something!!

Kodachrome is a song written by Paul Simon, and featured on his album There Goes Rhymin’ Simon, which was released in May 1973.The song is named after the Kodak film Kodachrome. The song became a major hit in the United States, but it was not a hit in Britain, most likely because British radio would not play the trademarked name.Although Kodak required the album to note that Kodachrome is a trademark of Kodak, decades later Kodak used the song in commercials to sell film in the late 1990s.

I doudt that mentioning commercial items in verse would be against any copyright law due to freedom of speech. Another film or camera company can’t use the names you mention but that is all a copyright does. The Beach Boys used Coke in a tune and the Beatles used Coca-Cola, What about Mustang Sally.The list would be endless if you want to spend the time thinking of songs that mention commercial items by name.

How old is Paul Simon and when did he first do that Kodachrome song? Does he use a digital camera now or simply follow a trail of cookies to Canada to get it developed?You can still buy kodachrome but as I understand it .. you have to send to to Canada to be processed by Kodak.
Born October 1941 . I loved that Kodachrome song!youtube.com/watch?v=3hSXKjHDKkY&mode=related&search=

He’s got to be in his 60s and that crummy song came out in the early 70s. I don’t understand the rest of your question.

Kodachrome is the ultimate in color film. I have thousands of Kodachrome slides that I’ve shot over the years. But none after 1995, when Paul Simon became an old man. What has your obsession with cookies got to do with Kodak?

Paul Simon is the same age as my Dad – 65. Big difference here is that I never had a crush on my Dad, although he IS one handsome dude.😉 Simon did “Kodachrome” in ’73, on his awesome “There Goes Rhymin’ Simon” album. Darlin’, I am a veritable ENCYCLOPEDIA of Paul Simon facts. No Wiki’ing here. The man captured my heart 17 years ago and he ain’t lettin’ go. And really, it’s starting to hurt. Let GO, Paul!”No!”Yes!”No!”NOW!”I’ll sing for you.”*Sighs* OK. Fine.I SWEAR I’m not a stalker, Icy. *Grins & blushes* I SWEAR!

What does Paul Simon mean when he says “Mama don’t take my kodachrome away!”? What does song writer Paul Simon mean when he says “Mama don’t take my kodachrome away!”I know that kodachrome is film. But why does he include a line about getting his kodachrome taken away? What is the significance of the whole line in relation to the song?
If you listen to the whole song – I think Paul is trying to say he likes his old memories – his mother might not have approved of what he did as a kid – but they are fond memories, so don’t take them away. The “kodachrome” is a tribute to the presence Kodak had the the photo market in the 60’s, but he’s referring to his own memories more than actual photos. My two cents!

The song is about the difference between our memories and reality. Simon uses Kodachrome film (an early popular consumer color film) as a metaphor for the tendency to create an illusion of how pleasant the past was. It’s similar to rose colored glasses in that it “Makes us think all the world’s a sunny day” when clearly there are ups and downs in the lives of everyone.He sums it up nicely at the end of the second verse; the reality of his past could “never match my sweet imagination/Everything looks worse in black and white ( a play on words meaning both a film choice as well as an objective view)”To “take his Kodrachrome away” would be for him to have to review the pleasant memories and outlook on life through more cynical eyes.

About simonboli

Hi. I'm music arranger and composer. Mostly focus on classical genres. Also give music lessons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

