Is This What You Call Love? by Stephen Sondheim

Passion – Is This What You Call Love?

Performed by David Thaxton on Radio 3.

Download and print PDF scores of Is This What You Call Love? by Stephen Sondheim

“Is this what you call love?” (Passion, Donmar Warehouse, 2010)

David Thaxton as Giorgio (pictured)

What are some really good performing arts schools? I’m 14, and I want to attend a performing arts college after high school. I would LOVE to go to Juilliard, but I know the chances of that happening are slim to none. I can act, sing, and sort of dance. Can anybody list really good performing arts schools like Juilliard??

Download and print PDF scores of Is This What You Call Love? by Stephen Sondheim

One the hardest Performing Arts Schools to get into, but one of the greatest, is The Actors Studio. They actually have their own show that airs on Bravo called: “Inside The Actors Studio” hosted by James Lipton. Its a show, where members of the school sit in the audience and take notes on things that the guest of the show talks about. People Ranging from Billy Crystal, to Barbra Streisand have been on that show. I’m not sure if they accept teenagers, but I do know they allowed Barbra Streisand to audition for the school when She Was 15, but at the same time that was in the 50s.But also in NYC their is The High School Of Performing Arts. Legendary people from Broadway have gone there. Such examples would be Marvin Hamlisch (Composer), and Liza Minnelli (Singer/Actress). It back in the 1960s used to right across the street from Capitol Records, Where Liza Minnelli recorded her first three albums. How convenient that must of been for her to have her recording studio right across the street from her High School.And as far as a Performing Arts College that I myself, am hoping to attend is Emerson college in Boston, Massachusetts. People such as Mario Cantone (Comedian/Broadway Entertainer) have gone there. Mario Cantone is usually on The View after each major award show doing a rap up. Like after the Tonys he goes on the View and does a Tony Rap up of what he thought of the Tonys, and the same with like The Oscars, Emmys, etc. Other Notable things that he has done has been in the Stephen Sondheim musical, Assassins. Which was on Broadway in the early 2000s, actually I think one of the first performances of the show had to be cancelled because of 9/11. But anyways look up Mario Cantone on YouTube, I think he is one of the funniest comedians ever.6 days ago

What song should my a’capella group sing? I am looking for something funky. Or something with a lot of soul. or any song that is really cool.
I would suggest one of these songs from this musical I’m in love with called “Into the Woods”. They have a lot of harmonies and break off into groups in parts and it’s really cool and powerful.I would suggest the song Children Will Listen/Finale. You may even cut out the Children Will Listen part and it would still be really cool but I think that it leads up to the faster part quite well. Here is a vid. of the song on YouTube, the song I was suggesting. It starts at 1:34.youtube.com/watch?v=3Hh3l39Ifwg(If you sang this song, you would not include the talking in the beginning.)You might also try the song No One Is Alone from the same musical, it’s not as cool but it’s tune is absolutely beautiful and once again breaks off into parts that would sound cool in acapella.youtube.com/watch?v=UfQnw96t_Yg(Obviously sung by only four people but i’m sure you could sing it with more than one person on the solo parts. And obviously again w/o the talking).Both songs are by Stephen Sondheim.I dunno, just some suggestions.🙂

I need some classic love songs anywhere from the 1950’s to now? I need to make a new cd with a bunch of love songs on it🙂 Please help!
End of the roadAll night longOn bended kneesWater runs dryLove songs by Boyz II Menbut you can google love songs and it’ll probably give you a whole list

BB King’s “Nobody Loves Me But My Mother”William Eaton’s “Moonlight Dance”David Guetta’s “Everytime We Touch”

Honestly, the first thing that came to my mind was..Let’s Get It On by Marvin Gaye :)Sexual Healing by Marvin Gaye Unchained Melody by the Righteous BrothersTime Of My Life by (Dirty Dancing Soundtrack)There are so many but I have class in ten min! Good luck!

“Oh Girl” – The Chi-Lites “When I Fall In Love” Nat King Cole “Have I Told You Lately” – Van Morrison “How Can I Tell You” – Cat Stevens “Alison” – Elvis Costello “Do You Love Me?” From Fiddler on the Roof “Some Enchanted Evening” From South Pacific “Someone to Watch Over Me” – Linda Ronstadt “A Man and a Woman” – Anita Kerr Singers “Natural Woman” – Aretha Franklin “All I Want” – Joni Mitchell “At Last” – Etta James “You Make Loving Fun” – Fleetwood Mac “Songbird” – Fleetwood Mac “Just the Way You Are” – Billy Joel “Last Dance” – Donna Summer”Fever” – Peggy Lee “Do You Want to Dance?” – Bette Midler “Sexual Healing” – Marvin Gaye “Crazy” – Patsy Cline “Always on My Mind” – Willie Nelson “Saving All My Love for You” – Whitney Houston. “On the Street Where You Live” – From My Fair Lady”Somewhere” – Stephen Sondheim and Leonard Bernstein “Still in Love With You” – Al Green “Do You Believe in Magic?” – The Lovin’ Spoonful “Just Like a Woman” – Bob Dylan “P.S. I Love You” – The Beatles “Chelsea Morning” – Joni Mitchell “Girl” – The Beatles “Kiss From a Rose” – Seal “Vision of Love” – Mariah Carey “With or Without You” – U2 “Moon River” – Henry Mancini “Take on Me” – a-ha “Crazy for You” – Madonna “Time After Time” – Cyndi Lauper “Come On Eileen” – Dexys Midnight Runners “Love You Inside Out” – Bee Gees “You’re the One That I Want” – John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John “How Deep Is Your Love” – The Bee Gees”You Don’t Have to Be a Star (To Be in My Show)” – Marilyn McCoo and Billy Davis Jr. “Shining Star” – Earth Wind & Fire “Lovin’ You” – Minnie Ripperton “Then Came You” – Dionne Warwick and the Spinners “Can’t Get Enough of Your Love Babe” – Barry White”Feel Like Makin’ Love” – Roberta Flack “Love’s Theme” – The Love Unlimited Orchestra “The Way We Were” – Barbra Streisand “Midnight Train To Georgia” – Gladys Knight “Let’s Get It On” – Marvin Gaye “You Are the Sunshine of My Life” – Stevie Wonder “Lean on Me” – Bill Withers “Here, There and Everywhere” – The Beatles “Heart of Gold” – Neil Young “Let’s Stay Together” – Al Green “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” – Diana Ross “Close to You” – The Carpenters”The Long and Winding Road” – The Beatles”Sugar Sugar” – The Archies “Higher Love” – Steve Winwood “Love Theme From Romeo and Juliet” – Henry Mancini “This Guy’s in Love With You” – Herb Alpert “Baby Love” – The Supremes”Strangers in the Night” – Frank Sinatra “Reach Out I’ll Be There” – The Four Tops “When a Man Loves a Woman” – Percy Sledge “I Will Always Love You” – Dolly Parton/Whitney Houston “(You’re My) Soul and Inspiration” – The Righteous Brothers “My Love” – Petula Clark “I Got You Babe” – Sonny and Cher “Back in My Arms Again” – The Supremes “Happy Together” – The Turtles “My Guy” – Mary Wells “Chapel of Love” – The Dixie Cups “I Will Follow Him” – Little Peggy March “He’s So Fine” – The Chiffons “Up on the Roof” – The Drifters”Will You Love Me Tomorrow?” – Carole King “Stay” – Maurice Williams and the Zodiacs “Save the Last Dance for Me” – The Drifters “Unchained Melody” – The Righteous Brothers “Crazy Little Thing Called Love” – Queen “Sherry” – The Four Seasons “To Sir With Love” – Lulu “Killing Me Softly With His Song” – Roberta Flack “You’ve Got a Friend” – Carole King “All I Have to Do Is Dream” – The Everly Brothers “Bridge Over Troubled Water” – Simon & Garfunkel “Best of My Love” – The Emotions “I Can’t Stop Loving You” – Ray Charles “Michelle” – The Beatles “Are You Lonesome Tonight?” – Elvis Presley “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” – Roberta Flack “In My Life” – The Beatles”You Are So Beautiful” – Joe Cocker “I Just Called to Say I Love You” – Stevie Wonder “Wonderful Tonight” – Eric Clapton “I’ll Be There” – The Jackson 5 “My Girl” – The Temptations”Trip Through Your Wires” – U2″A Case of You” – Joni Mitchell

About simonboli

Hi. I'm music arranger and composer. Mostly focus on classical genres. Also give music lessons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

