Joe Satriani – I Am Become Death

Joe Satriani – I Am Become Death

Time Machine 1993.

Sheet music for Joe Satriani – I Am Become Death is available for downloading in digital format.

Joe Satriani – I Am Become Death

Joe Satriani – I Am Become Death.

Why does my arm hurt when I play guitar ? Okay I’ve barely started playing guitar its been like 3 months . Im doing really well . I play electric guitar. the muscles from my forearm hurt when I play as well as my wrists . Is this bad am I doing anything wrong ? Ive been learning how to play a lot of ” power chords” I feel the pain during and after Im playing. Thanks for everything 🙂

Sheet music for Joe Satriani – I Am Become Death is available for downloading in digital format.

If it’s your fret-playing arm, raise the angle of the neck closer to 45 degrees. Some of the elite guitarists use this angle. It’s derived from the ‘classical’ style of playing. I’m assuming that you play at a normal angle where the neck is parallel to the ground. You can put a lot of tension on your limbs while reaching around for the basic power chords. If it’s your picking arm, loosen the tension on your hand and wrist. You should gain more flexibility in your playing that way. It’s similar to sprinting, the looser you run, the better.Guitar teacher

This often comes from having too much of an angle on your wrist. Make sure to keep it straight, and to tilt your guitar upwards.

Hello there,When I started to learn, I would play until my fingers blistered and I kept playing until they sometimes bled. Then I would try putting tape or something over my fingertips to keep playing. Boy was I DUMB When you hurt you need to stop and don’t play until the pain is gone. Whether that is 2 hours or 2 days, don’t pick the guitar back up until the pain is gone.I think there is something wrong with your form. My guess is you are pressing too hard. You don’t need a death grip on your guitar. On the hand with which you fret, squeezing the neck like you are trying to make sawdust, is not going to improve your playing. It will cause you pain. On the hand with which you strum, gripping the pick tight is not going to squeeze better tone out of it. For your fretting hand, look at some music videos of a guitar player of similar build to you. If you are tall and thin, look for a tall and thin guitar player in the music videos you watch. If you are short and stocky, then look for a short and stocky guitar player in the music videos you watch. What ever your build keep your eyes open for a guitar player of similar build in the videos. When you see such a person, what how he or she positions the arm with which she/he frets the guitar. Notice the angle of the guitar neck in relation to the body. Try to practice holding it the same way. If that feels more comfortable you are set. If not, look at a couple more videos to see if you find another player of similar built. If that player holds the guitar differently than the first try that style. There is a lot of individual style in guitar playing, but the style should be built around comfort and ease of play.Now for the hand with which you fret the neck. I am guessing you are fairly young and have fairly small hands. You have been playing only a short time and have not yet fully developed the muscles you need for guitar playing. That becomes most evident when you do stretches and reaching across the neck to the low strings to play power chords is a stretch. Because of the reach, you may even need to press down a little harder on the strings in order to play them. You may have been told the proper technique is to anchor your thumb near the middle of the back of the neck. That is good form. But, sometimes you need to deviate from that form. If you have trouble reaching power chords rotate your thumb more towards the higher pitched strings side of the neck to see if that eases the tension in reaching the power chords. Remember tension is the enemy of speed. If you tighten your muscles they cannot move as fast and fluidly as they can when you relax them. Coaches preach that all the time to athletics. The same applies to the guitar. If your muscles are tight, you are squeezing or pressing hard, there is tension. If there is tension you cannot move your fingers as fast. When you try to do so, they hurt. You are necessarily overworking them. The same is true for your picking hand. If you have a tight grip on your pick, you have tension in your arm. You cannot pick as fast. To compensate, you force the muscles to move faster than they can comfortably and you hurt. Loosen your grip on the pick. If it slides out, fine. That is not too tight (but it is also NOT too loose). Sometimes the pick is going to slide out. No big deal; let it slide. Also try anchoring your picking arm on the body. Let it rest somewhere around the bridge so that the arm above the wrist is resting on the guitar body. Then move with just your wrist. Keep your hand loose and relaxed. Don’t make large sweeping motions with your arm to pick and strum. I can flick my wrist a lot faster and with less effort than you can wave your arm. Just where around the bridge area varies depending on personal comfort. Find a spot that feels comfortable and allows you to play with a minimum of motion. Joe Satriani refers to that as economy of motion in his videos.Last thing, if you are not already doing so, you should be doing warm up and stretching exercises. Guitarists do those to limber up their fingers before they perform. But those exercises are good for beginners to develop their muscles and increase their reach. Also working a small hard rubber ball helps develop finger strength. I have used a Superball a couple times when I have had a hand injury to help me rehab my fingers. I simply squeeze it. I sit around listening to music and squeeze the ball working it with my fingers. For some stretching exercises, take a look at a couple videos by Joe Satriani.youtube.com/watch?v=JNDyI5b3Fh8youtube.com/watch?v=VIZd9LIK0AQ&feature=relatedLater,I thought of a video lesson that may help you. This one shows how to hold your fingers to make a chord.youtube.com/watch?v=8fk0if7GW6c&feature=related

About simonboli

Hi. I'm music arranger and composer. Mostly focus on classical genres. Also give music lessons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

